Certain memberships (Premium Membership, Playbook download, etc) have a discounted price for the second and subsequent years. To make the discounted renewal rate work, when you initially purchased your membership, our payment processor PayPal created a "recurring payment" for you.
You will receive an email notice prior to your subscription expiration date that asks you if you want to renew at the discounted rate. Your PayPal or credit card will NOT be automatically billed if you ignore it. You will only be billed if you give permission. If you choose to ignore it, your account will become "inactive" after the expiration date and you will loose access to the members area.